Carolyn McGinn

legislative Leadership

Current Assignments and Leadership Roles:

Chair Legislative Budget Committee

Chair Social Services Subcommittee

Chair Health Subcommittee

Chair Agriculture & Natural Resource Committee

Chair Senate Ways & Means Committee

Vice-Chair 2020 Special Committee on Kansas Mental Health Modernization and Reform

Joint Committee on State Building Construction

Joint Committee on Administrative Rules & Regulations

Confirmation Oversight

Senate Select Committee on Education Finance

Ethics, Elections & Local Government Committee

Agriculture & Natural Resources

2019 Special Committee on Natural Resources


Former Assignments and Leadership Roles:

Senate Rural Caucus

Senate Ways and Means Committee, 2005-2012, Vice Chair 2009-2010, Chair 2011-2012

Senate Natural Resources Committee, Chair 2005-2011

Senate Utilities Committee, 2009-2011

Senate Local Government Committee, 2009-2010

Senate Judiciary Committee, 2013-2016

Energy and Environment Joint Committee, Chair 2008-2012

Joint Committee on Juvenile Justice Oversight & Correction

Home and Community Based Services Oversight Joint Committee, Chair 2009-2012

Kansas Security Joint Committee, 2005-2012

Kansas Technology Enterprise Corporation Board of Directors, 2009-2012

national Appointments

CSG Midwestern Legislative Conference - 2nd Vice President

State Agriculture and Rural Leadership Board of Directors, 2015-Present

Energy Council, Member, 2016-Present

Midwest Interstate Passenger Rail Commission, Financial Officer

Former Appointments:

Council of State Governments (CSG) Midwest, Co-Chair Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee, 2005-2013

National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), Vice-Chair Energy and Environment Committee, 2009-2013

The Energy Council, Executive Committee Member, 2007-2013

CLEER, Executive Committee Member and Kansas Representative, 2008-2013

CSG Midwestern Radioactive Waste Materials Transportation Committee, 2006-2010

NCSL High-Level Radioactive Waste and Spent Nuclear Fuel Working Group, 2005- 2010

boards of Directors &
advisory Committees:

Business Community Involvement

Newton Regional Hospital Advisory Council, 2007-Present

The Kansas African American Museum Board Member

Member of several Sedgwick and Harvey County Chambers of Commerce, 1999-Present

Newton Rotary

Land O' Lakes Executive Council


Asbury Park Retirement Community of Newton Board of Trustees, 2012

The Kansas African American Museum Board, 2003-2008, President 2008-2012

YWCA Domestic Crisis Center of Sedgwick County Board, 2007-2012

Kansas Learning Center for Health, 2005-2011

Lower Arkansas Basin Advisory Committee, 2004-2011

Kansas Geological Survey Advisory Committee, Past Vice President

Sand Extraction and Development Study in Intensive Groundwater Areas Task Force, Chair 2004-2006

Kansas Association of Counties Board Member, 2003-2004

Greater Wichita Convention and Visitors’ Bureau, 2002-2004

Wichita Downtown Development Corporation, 2001-2004

Old Cow Town Museum Board Member & Past President, 1998-2004

Kansas Farm Bureau State Committee Member, Natural Resources, 1995-1998

Sedgwick County Farm Bureau, Past President, 1995-1998

Andale Farmers’ Co-op Board, 1993-1998

Carolyn McGinn is a 4th generation resident of the 31st District. She graduated from Valley Center High School and achieved a business degree from Wichita State University before earning a Master’s Degree in Environmental Studies from Friends University.

Carolyn lives with her husband Mark on a family farm outside the town of Sedgwick where they raised two sons. After Mark retired from his 32 year career as an Engineer at Cessna, he and Carolyn began to diversify their traditional grain operation by adding a grape vineyard. They also renovated the family homestead for an extended guest house. This year they have added chickens and hope to continue expanding into food production for fresh markets.

Carolyn first became active in local politics through grassroots landowners’ rights advocacy and Sedgwick Public Schools, where her children attended. She ran for and won a seat on the Sedgwick County Commission in 1998 and was re-elected in 2002. She was elected to the Kansas State Senate in 2004 and re-elected in 2008 and 2012.

As an elected representative, at both the County and State levels, Carolyn has strived to balance rural and urban needs. She has also advocated for transparency in budgeting and campaign finance. She is opposed to tax policy that pushes unfunded mandates down on local property owners and is very concerned that small business owners and seniors on fixed incomes will have to bear the brunt of reckless tax and budget decisions by state and federal officials.

the 31st District Notes from the Legislature


Kansas State Senator
Co-Owner Family Grain Production Farm and Agritourism

Past Employment
Sedgwick County Commissioner, 1998-2004
Sedgwick Public Schools, Jr. High Coach and Substitute teacher, 1995-1998
Crop Insurance Adjuster, Farm Bureau Insurance, 1995-1998

Friends University – Wichita, KS
Master of Science in Environmental Studies, 1998

Wichita State University, Barton School of Business – Wichita, KS
Bachelor of Business Administration, 1983 Degree in Marketing

Valley Center High School – Valley Center, KS, 1977

awards & Recognition

Kansas Mental Health Coalition - Leadership and Collaboration - 2018

Intergovernmental Leadership Award - League of Kansas Municipalities - 2016

Champion for the Cure - 2012

Legislative Champion for Community Mental Health - 2017

Kansas Association of Addiction Professionals - Policy Maker of the Year - 2019

KWF Conservation Legislator of the Year - 2011

Association of Community Mental Health Centers of Kansas, Public Official of the Year -2008

Kansas Association of Homes and Service to the Aging, Chairs Citation - 2010

National Alliance on Mental Illness, Award for Legislative Excellence - 2011

Sedgwick Commission Award for Service to South Central Kansas as Chair of the South Central Kansas Legislative Delegation – 2008

Farm Bureau Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award – 2006

The National Council of Negro Women, Leadership & Outreach Legacy Award – 2004

H.O.P.E. Inc., Outstanding Support of H.O.P.E. Inc. – June 15, 2004

Kansas Farm Bureau Natural Resources Award – 1995, 1996, 1997

United Teachers of Wichita Friend of Education – 2011

National Alliance on Mental Illness Kansas Legislative Excellence Award – 2011

stay in Touch